Moments of Beauty

Yesterday I posted about the beginning of college football season.  My USC Trojans had a few missteps, but they won their season opener. W. Michigan gave me some heart palpations. They had some serious talent.  The moment that will stay with my for a long time came late in the 4th quarter with about 3 minutes left to play.  USC had just scored a touchdown and was preparing to kick the extra point.  I was waiting for the usual when it was clear something unusual was happening.  Something profound and beautiful was happening.

I had no clue that a member of the USC football team was blind. His name is Jake Olson and he lost his sight when he was 12.  He played in high school and joined the Trojans roster in 2015.  Until yesterday, he’d only ever snapped the ball in practice.  In yesterday’s game he snapped the football for the extra point.  It was a fabulous snap and USC got the extra point, making the final score 49-31.

I watched Jake being led to the field, his hand on his teammates shoulder. I watched his teammates orient him to the line of scrimmage.  I watched that remarkable young man deliver a straight, strong snap. It brought me to tears.  It inspired me. It was a moment of true beauty.

Now I am going to go back to writing.  There’s this new character that’s asking for a spot on the college football team in my upcoming series.

Leave a Reply

